The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old April 7, 2006, 12:27 PM   #1
KatieC

South Paw in need of help

I am looking for a left handed handgun but don't know of any. I have heard Beretta is both, but I don't want that. I just bought a Sig P229 with the new DAK trigger. I am new to all of this, trying to get my department equipped with sidearms after a near fatal pit bull attack involving my partner and me. I can shoot either or, but I really need to go left handed since I am a lefty and my stance is lefty. Any advice would be helpful.
Old April 7, 2006, 12:43 PM   #2
Retired

Sig P229

KatieC,

I am left-handed, as are several of my friends from work. We were issued SIG P229's, and didn't have any problems.

With practice, you can learn to manipulate the magazine release, slide release, and decocking lever with your trigger finger.
Old April 7, 2006, 12:56 PM   #3
DonR101395

I'm a lefty and have had no trouble with the any of the major manufacturors handguns. Most all of them produce an ambidextrious model and if they don't the controls are still easy to manipulate left handed. I shoot Sigs, Glocks and 1911's primarily and the only mods I do are night sight and an ambi safety on the 1911's. The Sigs and Glocks are "right handed" but the controls are easily used with the index finger.
Old April 7, 2006, 12:58 PM   #4
kahrcarry