The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 24, 2005, 09:12 AM   #1
Al Norris
Moderator Emeritus

Idaho Elk Hunt.

I've been practicing for this hunt for almost 2 years now.

My son, Mike, is a career Marine and arrived home on Saturday. We both got our draws. He drew a bull permit (he wants the trophy) and I drew for a cow (I want that sweet meat). The area is some of the best elk hunting in Idaho. South of the Blackfoot river to just north of Bear lake. East of Soda Springs over to the Wyoming border. Officially they are units 66a and unit 70 (for those with Idaho regs).

I've been practicing long distance shooting ever since I bought my vaquero. Now, I'm not the best shot in the world, but I can hit a notebook sized piece of paper, 6 out of 6 times at 100yds. 4 out of 6 times at 150yds, standing with a hand rest. So I think I'm good to go.

I'm using 240gr Lasercast RNFP slugs over 24.5gr of H110 (usual warnings apply) using CCI 350 primers. Chronos at 1431fps. My vaquero seems to like this load and I know it will do the job if I do mine.

Mike is using his 300wthby to shoot. Hornady 190gr BTSP over 74.8gr of H4831sc with Fed 215 primer. Chronos at 2985fps. Mike has a Sheffield scope and he gets less than 1 inch groups at his 200yds zero, prone position and bipods.

Since there is no snow, this will be a real hunt. No horses or 4 wheelers. Just our two feet, our rope and our skill at tracking. Weather forecast is dry until Thursday with 40% chance of rain/snow decreasing Friday and Saturday. Sunny next Sunday. Temps should range from highs in the 60's to lows in the mid 20's.

Leaving tomorrow the 25th and we will be gone for a week, unless we get our elk earlier. I'll have my camera and will post some pics, however it goes, when I get back. This will be Mike's first elk hunt and my first in 14 years.
Old November 1, 2005, 10:47 AM   #2
Al Norris
Moderator Emeritus

After Action Report.

Day 1