The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 8, 2005, 07:55 AM   #1
cdoc42

Neck turning problem

I've been reloading for over 25 years and have never experienced this situation. I neck-turned some Winchester .300 WSM cases, loaded them with 62.0 gr of IMR4320 behind a Hornady SST 150gr, fired by CCI LR primers. Fired them off, then resized. I noticed there was very little resistance as the expander plug pulled through the case. Usually this is a hassle and requires lubrication of some sort. I took a Hornady SST bullet and hand-fitted it into the mouth of the case. It met case resistance but the bullet seemed to start to seat itself deeper than in cases I had not neck-turned. One case out of 20 actually allowed the bullet to drop right into the body of the case as though I had never resized it. Repeated attempts to resize made no difference. I took a previously loaded round and removed the bullet with my impact hammer. One small whack and the bullet popped out. usually I have to hit the hammer several times. Could it be that my neck-turning operation removed too much external brass and upon firing the case expanded to such an extent that I cannot resize to accept the .308 bullet?
Old July 8, 2005, 11:35 AM   #2
zeisloft

doc, how many times has this brass been through the mill?
Old July 8, 2005, 11:51 AM   #3
brickeyee

Neck turned cases often require a bushing type die to get the neck sized back for the next go round.
Redding makes 'regular' style dies that use inserts (as opposed to bench rest dies used with an arbor press).
If the gun you are reloading for does not have a tight neck chamber, turning necks is not likely to be very prodctive with regular brass.
Brass made from a longer case and sized down creating a thicker neck than needed can be turned to match the chamber.