The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old December 30, 2015, 12:57 PM   #1
JeepGunny

Reliability and longevity from caliber and style

Hello all, first let me say that I am brand new to TFL and hope that this post is in the correct spot.

Also, let me introduce myself. I am 21, and ever since I turned 21 I have been a pistol enthusiast. I like to consider myself a decent shot. I can outshoot all of my friends and even an officer in my town. Anyways. I first started my collection with a Beretta 92a1 (9mm), I then got my CCL and bought a Glock 30s (45ACP). I carried the Glock for some time then decided that Glocks are extremely ugly and no Picatinny rail proved to be rather un-tactical with the more common pistol attachments and I purchased an FNH FNS-9. I currently carry the FNS daily when I do not carry the Glock. My wife then complained that the Beretta was a little too big for her hands so I went out an got an FNH FNX-45 tactical for home defense just for the fact that if I ever got a silencer I am ready to go.

THIS IS WHERE THE ACTUAL THREAD TAKES PLACE NO MORE INTRO....

So when we compare "for the sake of equality" a Glock 21 (full size 45) and a Glock 17 (9mm). Which gun will last longer as far as mechanics?

I have heard that while 9mm has more of a high pressure and speed it still puts less strain on the gun as a whole when compared to a 45acp...

Secondly, let's take a look at hammer and striker guns...

I know that striker guns have less moving parts an all we can ignore that fact, however taking just the striker assemblies and the hammer assemblies into account, which one of these two systems would suffer a failure first when keeping in mind that recommended maintanance is being done. Such as the striker sear wearing out, etc ... Or the hammer spring wearing out, etc......... Or ANY other part of that assembly in those guns.