The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 5, 2018, 03:44 PM   #1
Poconolg

Teaching Reloading

A neighbor of mine wanted to learn how to reload pistol. I have been reloading for 42 years now. He came over to my house and I showed him the reloading process on my Dillion 650. I told him that he doesn't need a 650 to learn to reload. I told him to maybe get a turret press and to buy a couple of books to read. ABC of reloading and the Lyman manual. He told me that he don't read books and he will go on youtube instead of reading. I told him that if he wants me to teach him to reload he will have to use books and until he reads and learns why you do what to reload I will not show him how to reload. Am I wrong?
Old August 5, 2018, 03:49 PM   #2
closetgunnut

You are entirely correct sir! If he doesn't want to take the time to read and learn about reloading he shouldn't reload, period. This is am awesome hobby but it also can be a dangerous hobby. Good luck.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Old August 5, 2018, 03:59 PM   #3
NoSecondBest

Every day on the net forums I see people posting questions about loading and it's very obvious that they simply don't want to take the time or trouble to learn anything about it. They don't even own a reloading manual. They always seem to get some good advice and a good dose of very bad advice....probably from someone else too lazy to learn anything. Problem is, they don't know the good from the bad. It's a testimony to the firearms manufacturers that more people aren't hurt doing a lot of stupid stuff with equipment and products they don't know the first thing about.
Old August 5, 2018, 04:04 PM   #4
Aguila Blanca
Staff