The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old April 14, 2008, 09:24 PM   #1
randyc74

Plated Lead vs Hardcast Lead for practice/competition

Hey guys
I checked all over this forum for an answer to my question(s) before posting these questions.
I'm brand new to the handgun competiton sports but not to shooting or reloading. I plan to enter a USPSA match next month. I plan on using my duty SA XD45. and shoot in either/or the Production/Limited10 classes.

I've been reloading Berrys plated 230gr. RN over 5.5 Grs. of Unique. Berrys bullets have kinda gone over the top with their lead surcharge. Because of cost, I'm considering reloading 230 gr. hardcast bullets. The XD45 according to popular opinion doesn't function real well with semi-wadcutter bullets, so I will be sticking with roundnose bullets.

Would either the 230gr. RN plated or hardcast work for both practice and competition?
Would either bullet type place me at a disadvantage in competition?
Because of the cost factor, can I go just with the hardcast bullets for both practice and competition?
For consistancy sake, can I use the same powder weight charge for practice/competition?

Thanks
Randy
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bulldo...2539637?ref=hl

Last edited by randyc74; April 15, 2008 at 12:02 AM.
Old April 15, 2008, 09:33 AM   #2
k8do

I am shooting moly coated hard lead (Master Blaster - now gone, but others make em), ACP 45 cal. RNF, with 5.0 gr. Accurate#2... Makes high power (just)... Bore is still clean of lead after thousands of rounds...

denny
Old April 15, 2008, 09:32 PM   #3
Gatorguy

I'm interested in this as well. I have never shot hardcast, but I am finding myself looking for plated alternatives with the current pricing going up. I really don't enjoy cleaning lead out of a barrel, so I was willing to pay more for plated to not have to do so. If hardcast doesn't foul much, that would be good info.
Old April 16, 2008, 07:25 PM   #4
Lurper