The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

View Poll Results: Do you think the rutting moon holds merit?
No. It's a bunch of malarkey. 8 66.67%
Yes. I can say there's something to it. 4 33.33%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Old November 12, 2013, 06:42 PM   #1
WWWJD

The Rutting Moon: Are you a believer?

I'm pretty new to the whitetail hunting scene. That means that most of you have probably forgotten more than I'll learn, given my lack of ability to participate in hunting as much as I'd like.

I've read a few articles on this web site or the other, regarding the rutting moon. Some call it a bunch of phooey; say that the doe's estrous cycle is purely triggered by hours of sunlight, and that the weather and lunar cycle have nothing to do with it. Countless hours have been spent writing in agreement with one side of the fence or the other. This is my third year hunting. Unfortunately, I have another variable playing against my success yet again. My hunting ground is surrounded by corn fields with corn still standing, and even if seeking n' chasing has begun, I'm fairly certain that those shenanigans are taking place in the thick cover that the corn fields are providing... but...