The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old July 31, 2017, 09:26 AM   #1
wild cat mccane

Dumb ?: Once SBR, can sell as rifle?

Hey there,

If you receive your form for a SBR, can you:
1) switch short and full uppers at anytime while you own it?
2) then put a full length upper on it and sell it as a normal rifle without anything required?

Thank you
Old July 31, 2017, 10:21 AM   #2
TrueBlue711

I'm not an expert, so don't take my post as gospel. I'm just taking a logical guess actually. For question one, I would say yes, you can swap uppers at your heart's content under your ownership. However, even with a 16" upper on it, the ATF would still look at it as an SBR since the serial number on the lower is on the SBR form.
So for question two, I don't think you can sell it to another individual unless they apply for the SBR paperwork too. I think the serial number on your lower is forever considered an SBR in the ATF's eyes.
Old July 31, 2017, 10:26 AM   #3
ttarp

1. Yes, but its still considered an SBR even with a 16" or longer barrel.

2. No, the lower is still registered as an SBR and must be sold as such unless removed from the NFA registry.

3. Someone more knowledgeable than me will probably tell me I'm wrong, and then we can both learn something.
Old July 31, 2017, 10:55 AM   #4
raimius

http://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/201...e-an-nfa-item/

If it is not in NFA configuration, and the owner cannot configure it into NFA form, it is treated as a non-NFA firearm. That said, you can also send a letter to the ATF asking it to be removed from the registry, just to be sure.
Old August 1, 2017, 07:11 AM   #5
Mobuck

Why would you pay the $200 to register as an SBR and then sell the stamped part at common market value? I know there are folks who consider $200 as just a night on the town but you're still responsible for securing the NFA part(?).