The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old August 3, 2018, 07:40 PM   #1
Wendyj

Glock 19 issues with reloads

I've been shooting a glock 26 for 3-4 years and had a few hundred rounds left I had ran through it. Some Titegroup hs6 and hp38. Never any issues in the 26 but stove piping and fte with my 19. Not limp wristing and gun may have 200 rounds through it. Gen 4. Can't figure out why. Shoots factory Remington and critical defense fine. Had just cleaned good and oiled slides. Kept only wet enough for a q tip to wipe off everywhere but where slides make contact. Loaded Berrys and xtps. Starting loads from Hodgdon and Hornady. Not as hot as factory loads from feel in my hand.
Old August 3, 2018, 08:11 PM   #2
745SW

I largely use the Speer manual and find I actually need to load to max or close to max for the ammo to cycle reliably in all my auto pistols when using a fast powder.

My pistols are largely service type so too light of a charge won't be reliable.
Old August 3, 2018, 08:26 PM   #3
Don P

For what it's worth I load 3.9 grains of titegroup under 115 grain SnS coated lead bullet
As you are, I once was, As I am, You will be.
Old August 3, 2018, 08:53 PM   #4
74A95

Sounds like you need more gunpowder to produce enough recoil force to cycle the gun. Starting loads might not be enough.

Some guns have stiff recoil springs and need full power ammo to cycle reliably. Try that and see how it goes.
Old August 3, 2018, 09:57 PM   #5
Wendyj

I thought about casting some lead for mine. I’m not sure what sns coated is unless a powder coating. I’m under the impression Glock barrels need to be changed to lone wolf to shoot lead. I will try some hotter loads. Curious why they fed in the 26 and not the 19 though.
Old August 3, 2018, 11:51 PM   #6
745SW