The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old September 21, 2017, 06:48 PM   #1
Mississippi

Colt ARs

Recently I have seen these budget colt ARs in the shops....I believe they are called the expanse line. I am not an AR aficionado though I carried a MK18 in the Navy and have several personal piston and DI 556's and 7.62x51's.

What I mean is I am not totally hip to the nuances that make a Colt LE 6940 and Expanse 400-$500 apart in price. Again, I have several ARs with features I want, but I'm not a colt expert.
Old September 21, 2017, 07:09 PM   #2
PatientWolf

You may want to seek answers in the semi-automatic sub-forum rather than the Bolt, lever, pump sub-forum.
Old September 21, 2017, 09:30 PM   #3
std7mag

Teacher!!!

He's in the wrong room!!!

Lol
Old September 22, 2017, 04:11 AM   #4
FrankenMauser

The budget line is not made by Colt. They are licensed.

Does that help?
Old September 22, 2017, 10:41 AM   #5
44 AMP
Staff

moved to semi auto...
Old September 22, 2017, 11:04 AM   #6
Fishbed77

Considering that the 6920 OEM rifles can be found for ~$100 (or less) more than the Expanse rifles, it make the Expanse rifles pretty pointless.
Old September 22, 2017, 11:24 AM   #7
WVsig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishbed77 View Post
Considering that the 6920 OEM rifles can be found for ~$100 (or less) more than the Expanse rifles, it make the Expanse rifles pretty pointless.
The Expanse was released before the bottom completely dropped out of the AR15 market. It was already priced close to the cost of its production vs the 6920 which had margin which has now been eroded.

I agree if you can get a 6920 for a $100 more than the Expanse the 6920 is a no brainer.
Old September 22, 2017, 11:30 AM   #8
Mississippi

Thanks for moving this thread 44....I accidentally put this in the wrong room.