The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old September 16, 2017, 10:04 AM   #1
Nathan

psak47 vs psa ks47

Both of these look like a great way to get 7.62 x 39 into my gun safe.

So, KS47 vs PSAK47?

I'm looking for a rifle that will shoot cheap steel case ammo all day long and ring 10" steel every time at 100 yards.

I'm a total newb at this type of rifle....what is preferred....I kind of want the ak for the platform, but only if I can mount a dot sight and get decent accuracy.

The KS is nice due to ar compatibility, but that keeps me from having the side folder.

I would like to reload....is there a reasonable way to get brass for it? What bullet diameter for these rifles? I hear people load .308-.312...

Thoughts? Input?

Last edited by Nathan; September 16, 2017 at 10:11 AM.
Old September 16, 2017, 06:32 PM   #2
stagpanther

I've recently purchased and compared the PSAK to their AR upper--which has the same 16" nitride barrel as the variant your eyeing. I personally could care less if the AR variant accepted AK mags--in fact I would prefer not to have that added complication tacked on to the lower.

Simply put--the accuracy of the AR barrel is significantly better than that of the AK's in the versions I bought. Since I'm not the kind of shooter that gets satisfaction from dumping huge quantities of cheap ammo through a weapon--I clearly prefer the AR version. However, if having a gun that is probably going to go bang every time no matter what you feed it under any circumstances--than the AK is the way to go. IMO--Ak's have a very high "cool" factor too. My PSAK does not have a nitrided barrel or action components--mine starts spot rusting very quickly whenever exposed to moisture. My less than 2 cents.
Old September 16, 2017, 06:58 PM   #3
DubC-Hicks