The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old September 10, 2017, 10:58 AM   #1
'88Scrat

New Boat/Truck Gun

I find myself in need of another handy little rifle I can keep in the truck or in my boat when I go on extended camping/fishing trips. Something to keep coyotes at bay and take potshots at empty pop cans.

I used to have a Universal M1 Carbine fot that purpose but it was... you know, a Universal M1 Carbine...

My first thought was a USGI M1 Carbine, they are small, light, and very portable. I loved that about the Universal I had but the reliability issues far outstripped its handiness. However, I can't bring myself to shell out $1,200 for one.

Right now I'm thinking either a new production M1 Carbine from either Auto-Ordinance or Infield or perhaps a Ruger Mini-14 in .300 Blackout. I have no experience with any of these choices so was hoping for some input here.

Thoughts?
Old September 10, 2017, 12:37 PM   #2
T. O'Heir

"...you know, a Universal M1 Carbine..." You have my deepest sympathies. Moreso if it was a late model. If you want a commercial Carbine find a pre-IJ Plainfield.
"...Auto-Ordinance..." Auto-Ordnance. An ordinance is a law.
"...or Infield..." Inland.
I'd be thinking used SS Mini-14(in .223. Ammo's easier to get.) if there's a boat in the mix. Even though they're inaccurate and overpriced. Either the AO($849.99 at Cabela's) or Inland(MASRP is $1139. Ludicrous.) will be overpriced too. About $800ish used at Bud's.
Old September 10, 2017, 02:35 PM   #3
turtlehead

If the poop hits the propeller there's nothing I'd rather have than an A...

But I guess those are out of fashion this week on this board.

Old September 10, 2017, 04:05 PM   #4
ratshooter

For what you are listing for reasons to have a gun on hand I would rather have a 10/22 or maybe one of the Ruger American rifles with the plastic stock. And then I would get the 22 mag version.