The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old October 3, 2012, 12:10 AM   #1
Glamisgirl

SR22 tumbling bullets...

Hi, I'm relatively new to handguns and 100% new to this site. We just purchased a Ruger SR22 handgun. We had no problems the first hundred rounds, but then we noticed the bullets were tumbling. Since the gun was under warranty we sent it back to Ruger and they 'fixed it' saying we should change ammo. So we did. After about 100 rounds (Remington thunderbolts 40 grain) we noticed they are tumbling again! Since we are rookies, I'm looking for advice. All the reviews I have read about this gun say nothing but good things so I really think its operator error (crappy ammo??) anyone have any thoughts?
Old October 3, 2012, 12:21 AM   #2
FrankenMauser

Skip the bulk packs and economy-grade ammo, at least for the time being.

Go to something boxed (higher quality), like:
Federal Champion Target
Federal Game-Shok
CCI Mini-Mag
CCI Stinger **
Remington YellowJacket **

**(If the pistol is rated for it.)
Old October 3, 2012, 02:48 AM   #3
raftman

Remington Thunderbolts may be the culprit. That is quite possibly the worst ammo money can buy. It doesn't take many rounds of that stuff to foul up the bore of a gun so bad as to leave it looking like a sewer pipe. I would imagine a pistol bore could get so thoroughly caked in lead fouling from shooting Remington Thunderbolts as to cause some sort of tumbling issues.

Cleaning out bore and sticking to plated ammo would likely solve the issue without necessarily having to resort to "high end" ammo.
Old October 3, 2012, 04:24 AM   #4
gunnerk19

^This^

My stepson has a box of that stuff left at our house; you can take those suckers and twist the bullets out of the brass by hand!
Old October 3, 2012, 05:46 AM   #5
Coach Z

Switch ammo for sure!