The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old February 12, 2010, 12:32 PM   #1
cannonfire

S.W.A.T. wannabe

Hey guys I'm new to these forums, so sorry for my inexperience in this topic. I recently had a change of heart in what I want to do for my career. Originally I wanted to be a chiropractor but after realizing that I like guns and kicking in doors too much, I decided that I ideally would like to be part of the FBI HRT or FBI SWAT. I figured since I have some years until I have the opportunity to reach my goal that I would come on here and ask for any advice.

I'm currently a U.S. Marine Reservist in a combat MOS (artillery) and I have a combat deployment (as a Improvised Rifle Squad). I'm in pretty good shape and I love shooting guns. I'm currently looking to buy a new handgun and I figured that you guys could help me in choosing one, so I can get practicing now.

Thanks,
Screams
Old February 12, 2010, 12:57 PM   #2
noyes

google ,

military police agencies
Old February 12, 2010, 04:29 PM   #3
Madcap_Magician

Switch to military police or infantry. Get a college degree (All FBI agents must have one).
Old February 12, 2010, 05:03 PM   #4
Old Grump
Member in memoriam

Doesn't matter what gun you choose today, you will be using what they issue and shooting the way they want you to shoot. Just shoot a variety of guns and get good on all of them, the practice won't hurt.

Artillery is as good a MOS as you can get for general knowledge. Learn the technical aspects of every piece of gear an artillery man can be reasonably expected to work on some day. If there is a rifle or pistol team in your unit give up your beer time and get on it. Might want to drop nicotine and alcohol while your at it. You wouldn't believe how much that affects your heartbeat.