The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 24, 2018, 08:35 AM   #1
huston_fam

Reload Issue Shell Sticking

I am relatively new to reloading and am having issues I am hoping I can get help with.

Here is the issue:
I can chamber and eject the new loaded bullets without any issue at all but once I fire the reload round it takes all my strength and a few minutes to get the shell/bolt pulled back to chamber the next round. I have cleaned and oiled the barrel and unfired they slide in and out with ease.

Thanks in advance for advice.
Huston_fam
Old September 24, 2018, 08:43 AM   #2
F. Guffey

I have run out of luck; I can no longer assume I know what rifle a shooter is using and I can no longer guess 'correctly' the chamber.

I want nothing between my case and chamber but air and when it comes to the finish of the case and chamber I want 100% contact between the two. Nothing beats 100% contact.

When it comes to trouble shooting nothing beats measurements like the length of the chamber from the shoulder to the bolt face and the length of the case before and again after firing from the shoulder of the case and case head.

F. Guffey
Old September 24, 2018, 08:50 AM   #3
HiBC

I suggest you buy a good reloading manual or two and study the process of reloading .Your bullet maker's book would probably do.

I'm pretty sure you need to do that because what you describe is a serious danger sign that pressure may be too high.Maybe a little too much powder. Maybe.

I'm thinking if you had studied a reloading manual you would know that.

There is quite a bit to learn,and thats why they write loading manuals.

I would not keep shooting those.
Old September 24, 2018, 09:00 AM   #4
Unclenick
Staff

Huston fam,

Welcome to the forum.