The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old June 19, 2012, 09:06 AM   #1
pturner67

FireClean

I was at the range this past weekend and the rep cleaned my AR with FireClean. He even wiped down the barrel with the stuff and dared me to try and make the barrel smoke. A few hundred rounds later and the barrel was scorching hot but no smoke. Pretty impressive (I think). But I'm more concerned with lube qualities.

Has anyone used this stuff? Thoughts? Concerns?

http://www.cleanergun.com/Home.html

edit: I am in no way associated with this product. I work in the information technology industry.
Old February 23, 2014, 01:41 PM   #2
Willie Lowman

don't call it a necrothread

I have recently purchased a two pack of Fireclean. I have treated my 23E and my SCAR with it. I have not had a chance to fire either of these guns after application of fireclean.

I know there are some other TFL users who have been using this product. It has gained quite a reputaion for making guns quicker to clean as carbon does not stick to the metal as well. (or so says the hype) My question as was the question of the OP, how does this stuff work as a lubricant? I haven't met a clean/lube/protect product that really can do all three or even two of those three very well.

So Fireclean users, how does it work as a lube??? Do you use another product to lube or Fireclean and nothing else?

-----------

Mods, I know it is a TFL unwritten rule to lock threads brought back from the dead but I am asking the exact same question that pturner67 asked and he even used the thread name I would have. Could you give this one a chance, if just for a few days?
Old February 25, 2014, 03:53 PM   #3
Willie Lowman