The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 31, 2014, 12:17 PM   #1
Analog Addict

Are these .223 rounds safe to use?

Greetings ! Forum newbie here. However, I"ve been using the same 3 stage Lee turret press for 25 years. But that doesn't mean I'm immune from stupid mistakes, or don't still have plenty to learn.

Anyway, speaking of stupid mistakes, a friend just gave me a bunch of IMR powder in cans, and I was working up some loads with it. I put together a run of 50, using Hornady 55 gr BT FMJs in PMC brass loaded with 17.1 gr IMR 4198. These I think will be fine, given the Hornady manual lists 17.4 gr at 2800 FPS. However, I was looking at a can of IMR 4895, and then came back to my bench later and decided to jump up to 18.2 gr 4198 in RP brass, and somehow brain farted and used the bloody can of IMR 4895 instead. So now I have 50 underpowered rounds where 22.7 gr is the 4895 load listed at 2800 FPS.

Bottom line - Will I need to pull all the bullets and start over, or are these rounds safe to shoot? I'm not really trying to put together anything real accurate. These were just supposed to be for plinking up to 100 yrds in a Stainless Ruger Mini - 14...

Last edited by Analog Addict; January 31, 2014 at 01:16 PM.
Old January 31, 2014, 12:27 PM   #2
Slamfire

It is always best practice to stay within the limits given by loading manuals. They do have pressure equipment and there has been a trend in today's manuals to recommend powder charges that are not highly sensitive to changes in primers and cases, and recommend charges that don't have wide pressure excursions.

As for your loads, I tested 69 Sierra matchkings with 23.0 grains at the low end and ended up at 24.5 at the high end. All of the rounds functioned.