The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 22, 2006, 06:45 PM   #1
timothius

Signs of too much pressure

I am really new to reloading so please indulge me on this one. Could somebody please tell me what the signs of too much pressure on a brass case would look like. I have been working up a load but I realized that I have never seen a caes that was subjected to too much pressure. Is there a web site that has some pictures on it. I am a regular dumb*ss and pictures really help me. By the way I have been working up a load on my 45 ACP and it has been fun, but trying. I start with a 200 grain plated Rainier bullet over 5.1 grains of Unique. I am now at 6.6 grains of Unique and all is still good. But I want to be sure of the signs before proceeding. All of the other brass looks the same as the lowest start load. I really wasn't expecting to get as high with the Rainier.

Thanks for all of your help.

Tim
Old November 22, 2006, 07:16 PM   #2
XD-Guy

A good sign of too much pressure is primers that look flat another is your slide sticking out of your forehead lol just kidding. The primers are a good sign though
Old November 22, 2006, 08:49 PM   #3
Ares45

-Flattened primers.
-Flowing primers or firing pin smearing.
-Light colored ring at the base of the case near the case head.

Worth noting that the above aren't always pressure related. Could be signs of improper headspace or other gun related issues.

I'm out on a limb here but it sounds like you're flying blind without a single load book. All the name brand load books discuss this stuff in detail, including pictures. If this is the case you're asking for serious trouble. Spend the 30 bucks now and save yourself a trip the the ER. Losing a few fingers and an eyeball is one thing, destroying a perfectly good firearm is another matter all together.
Old November 22, 2006, 09:18 PM   #4
steve4102