The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old August 2, 2018, 09:07 AM   #1
gunsmithalot

IWB Choice Question.

Hello to all, I am a concealed carrier and have been carrying a Glock 19 in various generations since around 1990. I have used quite a few IWB type holsters from soft material to kydex all with single type belt clip. I see the trend seems to be going towards the hybrid type holsters like the Crossbreed and Galco King Tuck. As I do carry a few extra pounds and have had the top of my slide digging into my gut long enough while sitting, I tend to carry just behind the point of my hip slightly to the rear, right side. I am looking for guidance and recommendations from experienced users as to what is more comfortable as well as secure. Thank you in advance for your input.
Old August 2, 2018, 09:31 AM   #2
Hoppy

I've been carrying for about 20 years. Never had a holster I was completely happy with until I made my own. I was looking for ease of use, minimalist style, comfort, ease of draw and reholstering, and retention.

My holsters are minimalist style IWB made of .080 kydex. The cant and ride height is custom. The retention is set when making the holster. The holster was good when I first made it but I didn't like how it moved around when walking/working, etc.. That changed when I glued suede onto the back. It adds some 'grip' as well as some comfort. I carry at 3 o'clock.

Also, one thing I changed was that I always wear an undershirt now, even in summer. There is a t shirt tucked in, then the holster, then a t shirt or other shirt over.

Here's my holster for my Glock 26. I don't make holsters as a business. To replicate this setup, a PJ Holster with suede glued on would come close.

Old August 2, 2018, 09:41 AM   #3
gunsmithalot

Nice work and thank you for the input.
Old August 2, 2018, 05:43 PM   #4
spacemanspiff