The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old August 28, 2012, 08:43 AM   #1
twobit

Making wooden revolver grip?

I have a Cimarron SAA which has a one piece wood grip. I want to make a one piece mesquite grip for it. I have lots of dried mesquite wood available and the proper tools. I have some experience in making a few knife handles. I know the grain in wood pistol grips runs from bottom to top and usually is angled slightly forward at the top. I have a question as to what part of the limb to cut the blank from.
QUESTION:
Do I include the very center growth rings of the limb in the center of the blank or do I move off to the side of the center rings and not include the center ring in the blank? I have logs available of various sizes. Some are big enough to exclude the center rings from the cut blank.

Thanks for any help. I just want to start with a properly chosen blank so to avoid cracking or weakness in the finished product.
Old August 28, 2012, 11:17 AM   #2
PetahW

I would think it depend upon each particular log, and your druthers, regarding how the finish grip will look.

If the grip blank is taken fron one side of a log, I would think it would be unlikely to get matching grain on both sides of the finished grip.

But

If a center cut, a particular log's core may/may not be suitable for grips, in either color, grain, or density.

I would cut out a few, using both methods, and choose - using the rest for practice (fitting/inletting & outer shaping) before doing the final/finish grip (It's not as easy as it looks).

Old August 28, 2012, 02:15 PM   #3
CowTowner

And boy is that mesquite tough to work with. I've seen chainsaw bars and chains rendered useless cutting that stuff.
You have my best wishes for success.