The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 5, 2021, 08:05 AM   #1
baddarryl

Setting up Browning BPS for Trap?

Hi all. I am just beginning the game of Trap. I have shot clays recreationally off and on all of my life. As with many things I am discovering maybe I wasn't shown properly thus my inconsistency. I plan to develop on my own as much as I can and also hone in with some Club Trap meets. I have shot one before Covid and did OK.

I have read about fit and how to lead them etc. I have a Browning BPS 12 ga that I believe fits me better than any other. I bought a Bear Creek slip cover to raise the Comb specifically for Trap. I guess my question is how do I know how to raise it to get optimal fit for this game? I am 5"8" and 165 lbs give or take. It has several inserts to adjust height. Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 3D5FA523-C8D7-4151-BABE-0634C607FAEF.jpeg (53.8 KB, 36 views)
Old August 5, 2021, 11:43 AM   #2
FITASC

Trap guns are typically designed to shoot high, about 70/30. To check that, you would go and shoot at a pattern board/plate (Some clubs use plate steel, others use a frame with big sheets of paper). Shoot for the center as you mount the gun and see where the pattern is. If you can't get the comb set up, then you will have to "cover" the bird as you pull the trigger - typically done with a flat shooting field version gun.
Not only will the pattern board show you where the pattern is in relation to high/low, it will also show you if it is hitting too far right or left or if it is centered.
"I believe that people have a right to decide their own destinies; people own themselves. I also believe that, in a democracy, government exists because (and only so long as) individual citizens give it a 'temporary license to exist'—in exchange for a promise that it will behave itself. In a democracy, you own the government—it doesn't own you."- Frank Zappa