The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Firing Line Gun Show > Retail Deals and Feedback

Notices

Old July 15, 2007, 04:41 PM   #1
casaventana

Gunsmith Alert

I'm relatively new to Tucson and was in need of a gunsmith to install a brand new set of Novak night sights ($152+) on my brand new HK USP45C. I asked the salesman at this store if they had a qualified gunsmith that could install a set of sights and he responded that the resident gunsmith was a perfectionist.

I waited impatiently while the work was being done. When the gun was returned to me, the "gunsmith", in his attempt to do a quick and dirty job, had taken too much of the bottom of the rear dovetail and when he screwed down the sight he forced the sight up in the dovetail. The sight now sits above the slide and light is visable below the sight.

The salesman claims that the installation was done properly. And of course this is just so much XX . I will not purchase anything from this store-ever and will try to inform the public so that do not have this frustration. I'll now have to buy new sights and spend another $152+. A very expensive lesson.

I will not publish the name of the store in Tucson but, I recommed that you be very careful of those that make claims of their abilities.
Old July 15, 2007, 05:12 PM   #2
ZeSpectre

Sorry but if you aren't going to specify whom we need to be cautious about then this is just a venting thread and doesn't do us much good.

Sorry somebody screwed up your firearm though.
Old July 15, 2007, 05:17 PM   #3
casaventana

You are absolutely right. The gun store is Diamondback.

Last edited by casaventana; July 16, 2007 at 07:44 AM. Reason: Correct typo
Old July 15, 2007, 10:45 PM   #4
contender6030