The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old September 6, 2002, 08:48 AM   #1
AndABeer

Prarie dogs

Father-in-law is making noises about a Wyoming prarie dog hunt at the end of this month. My hunting experience consists of Tennessee terrain and African bush. Never taken a shot longer than 100 yds on a live target. I have always wanted to be in a hunting situation where my shooting skills would be adequately tested and a prarie dog hunt sounds pretty close to what I am looking for. I have a 700 .308 that I have absolute confidence in out to 200 yds as that is the longest range I can find around here to shoot on. I also have a relatively new M70 .25-06 that I am still learning about.

I think I am pretty short on time to get up to speed with the .25 but I do have gobs of components for it (87gr & 100 gr). Will the .308 do or is it just too much?

Are prarie dog hunts fun? Subjective question but I am interested in all opinions.

Any other comments, info, or suggestions are welcome.

"You are entitled to your own opinion, but you are not entitled to your own facts." Unknown
Old September 6, 2002, 11:17 AM   #2
ralphtt

Prairie dog hunts are a helluva' lotta' fun . . .

but, IMHO, you're badly overgunned with a .308 and 25/06, even with the lighter bullets. On a decent PD hunt you will shoot at least 200 to 300 rounds per day. With those calibers, recoil will soon become a significant factor and fatigue will quickly make it difficult to enjoy the hunt.

I made three PD hunting trips to Montana and West Texas and used a .220 Swift, a 6 PPC and a .223 Remington. My favorite, by far, was the .223 'cause it was easier to shoot all day. If I went now, I would also take a .17 Remington but didn't own that gun at the time.