The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 5, 2010, 04:43 PM   #1
jambrdly

is crimping necessary for the mini-14 .223?

Is it actually necessary to crimp .223 bullets for the mini-14? I have been crimping them because I was advised to do so, but lately I've been wondering if it is really necessary or even desirable. The recoil is so mild that I don't how it can actually be setting the bullets back in the case (? yes/no?). On the other hand, I am new to the .223, new to the mini-14 and new to semi-autos so ....

Does crimping affect accuracy one way or the other?
Old June 5, 2010, 04:51 PM   #2
Crosshair

I put minimal crimp on my .223 and don't have problem with my Mini. YMMV
Old June 5, 2010, 04:53 PM   #3
Unclenick
Staff

Yes and no. I never crimp match .223 ammo for my AR, and have had no problems. I just don't want to distort the bullets. Match bullets don't have crimp cannelures, so you have to form them by crimping. Also, I don't use powders that are slow for the load. On the other hand, with some powders, particularly those on the slow side for the bullet weight, it turns out a crimp will increase start pressure just enough to be genuinely helpful to ignition and burn consistency and to improve accuracy over shorter ranges despite a little bullet distortion.

If the gun tends to slam bullet noses into the feed ramp, crimping can help avoid setback. If you are using cast bullets, their lubrication makes them vulnerable to setback, so they must be crimped (though I would only shoot gas checked cast bullets in a gas gun). If the bullets are going to go through extra rough handling, and may be dropped and banged around, crimping can help keep them in place.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old June 5, 2010, 11:38 PM   #4
steve4102

Recoil has little or nothing to do with crimping/neck tension in auto-loaders. It's all about the action and how it affects OAL.