The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old July 30, 2007, 07:34 AM   #1
SouthCentral

Best belts for gun/holster CCW and IPSC

Hello all: The day I bought my first CCW handgun, a Kahr MK4043 DAO, I also bought a Bianchi IWB 100 Professional holster. I have a 1 1/2" leather belt that I've used for holding my jeans up and that was OK for this carry. Along the way I discovered that with my style of preferred clothes (I'm retired)the IWB was OK but not the best choice. I'm just getting started with a local club to do some practical shooting (IPSC/USPSA Production Category) with 4 pistols I also use for CCW. They are the MK40 (least preferred), Colt Defender (most preferred) Sig P229 in 40S&W and a H&K USP45CT. I have holsters for the MK40 and the P229 and I've ordered for the Defender and the H&K. The FIST holster for the P229 showed me that I MUST get a new belt. It's still OK for the IWB but for the others, all being outside and canted they will (the FIST + P229) twist the belt. So my need is suggestions for a 1 1/2" leather that will resist the torque and so will ride flatter and more stable for these 3 holsters. All help will be greatly appreciated.
Old July 30, 2007, 08:34 AM   #2
yar

The colt defemder will be no go for production. Stiffest belt will be the cr speed but it's not leather nor a traditional belt. It's a competion specific inner and outer belt system.

for traditional belts but also not leather the wilderness survival is fairly stiff.
Old July 30, 2007, 08:38 AM   #3
gfmun

Belts

I would suggest you check out the Wilderness Tactical series. Not leather, but they work really great at a lot better price than leather.

thanks, George
Old August 11, 2007, 09:57 AM   #4
WESHOOT2

buy best buy once

I use a Don Hume 1.5" belt, bought cheap, from the great-service guys at Gunners Alley.
Granted, it's a lower-end quality product, but still very good.