The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 12, 2018, 05:23 PM   #1
JimTheTwo

Question about Thumb Safety

Hello,

I am pretty new to the forum though I've been a reader for a little while. I am also pretty new to handguns and VERY new to concealed carry. With so many options out there, my head is spinning and I feel like I change my mind on what to get every day.

After a ton of reading and researching I've decided to purchase a S&W M&P 9 compact 2.0. I am really not sure if I should get the model with the manual thumb safety or without.

I was wondering what the general opinion is on this. I have heard that you should never have a gun for EDC without a manual safety and I have also heard that it can be an issue in a SD situation, where every second can count.

Thanks in advance!
Old February 12, 2018, 05:39 PM   #2
Risasi

Now you've gone and opened a can of worms. It comes down to personal preference and how confident you are that you will keep your booger hook from inadvertently pressing the bang switch in a negligent manner.
Old February 12, 2018, 05:40 PM   #3
Cheapshooter

Very much a personal choice. If you are not confident in your ability to handle, and carry a gun that has no manual safety you are most likely better off having one.
For myself, fully knowing that the safety is between my ears, I choose to not complicate an emergency situation with an extra step. In an intense situation that step could be forgotten, or physically missed. My carry guns have eother long, deliberate double action triggers, long single action pull, or in the case of my Springfield XD40 Sub Compact, and Remington R51, a 1911 style grip safety.
Cheapshooter's rules of gun ownership #1: NEVER SELL OR TRADE ANYTHING!
Old February 12, 2018, 05:47 PM   #4
FITASC

Unless it's a 1911 being carried "cocked and locked" I prefer no manual safety, especially on guns like that, Glocks, Kahrs, etc.