The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 25, 2006, 04:48 AM   #1
mjrodney

Range Brass - Brands to avoid?

I am new to reloading and I have been picking up and using discarded range brass in .45ACP and .38 Special.

One fella I met said that he only picks up and reloads Winchester brass. All other brands remain where they fall. Huh?

Is there a reason I should avoid certain brands (other than non-reloadable Blazer)?
Old April 25, 2006, 05:34 AM   #2
donkee

Avoid anything that has AMERC on it. Total trash. Other than that, I use just about anything.
Old April 25, 2006, 05:37 AM   #3
Hairtrigger

I avoid all rifle brass.
I keep all of my brass to reload EXCEPT when it has been fired "X" times depending on the caliper. If a rookie would pick up my rifle brass for reloading and think it is once fired he could get a surprise in a few loadings.
Old April 25, 2006, 07:41 AM   #4
.499 BigBore

being as i only reload 5.56, i pick up only GI brass once fired, i reload them no more than 5 times and dump them in the scrap brass bin, then sell it all when i get enough to take to the scrap dealer, spent brass is about 50 cents a pound !!
Old April 25, 2006, 08:36 AM   #5
caz223

Although I haven't been to florida recently, it sounds like you met me.....
I only pick up win and starline (And most people who have starline pick it back up!!), and the other brands stay where they belong... in the dirt.

For the sake of accuracy I have standardized on one brand of brass for each caliber, and it seems that winchester pistol brass is the most consistant range brass I've found.
Why pick it up if I'm not going to use it? Only so I can sort it out, and have it take up space in my reloading area?
I'll let others pick up the other stuff...