The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old January 1, 2014, 09:27 PM   #1
Tangentabacus

Suggestions on packs/bags

So I'm pretty new to using my guns as tools... As a result I need better ways to carry them. Here's my needs: I have an AR-15, a Rem 700 AAC-SD, and a Mossberg 590A1. I carry the Mossberg for protection in the woods around Alaska. Sometimes in a truck, sometimes on a snowmobile, sometimes on a boat, sometimes on foot, and even sometimes in a kayak. I want to be able to carry all three (not necessarily at the same time though) with the ability to quickly draw the weapon in need for protection. I also need to be able to carry a decent amount of ammo, some survival gear, a medical kit, and an area for personal effects like an SLR camera maybe. I prefer them to be OD green or some sort of camo is okay. Just hate the look of that "real tree" stuff or whatever. Would be okay with molle gear but honestly I have no clue how that stuff works or what it's capabilities are.

Basically I want a basic overnight pack with the ability to carry a rifle sized gun on the back and some ammo, but I can't afford multiple packs so diversity in its function is a huge plus.

Suggestions welcome! Have no information on packs and bags.
Old January 1, 2014, 11:43 PM   #2
jben

Check out Crooked Horn Outfitters. They make very good quality packs, similar it sounds in what you are looking for. I own one of their older designs, and it is a great pack. They have some newer designs made for packing guns etc., I do believe. jben
Old January 2, 2014, 12:35 AM   #3
tgreening

Eberlestock or Mystery Ranch. Neither one is especially cheap, but they are built like the proverbial tank, which might come in handy given your stated usage, and both offer packs designed specifically for being weapons haulers.