The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8, 2011, 05:53 PM   #26
Dan44149
Member
 
Join Date: December 1, 2011
Location: Strongsville, OH
Posts: 55
I hear what your saying, was just trying to eliminate another variable... and yes I am OCD with some things.
__________________
Expert USMC Rifleman (x5)
Sharpshooter Pistol (sorry guys I hate the M9)
Novice Re-loader (tips are welcome anytime)
NRA Life-Member
Dan44149 is offline  
Old December 8, 2011, 06:08 PM   #27
Arizona Smithshooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 20, 2011
Location: Western Arizona
Posts: 173
Just goes to show these Forums can generate a wealth of valuable information

I am unpacking a new Hornady LNL AP press just like Dan's, so if I have any problems I am sure I can get lots of answers here. First I will read the instructions, watch the DVD and then go for it.

By the way, I have used the "Weigh the Brass" method for years without a problem when loading for maximum accuracy. I first Zero the scale with the cartridge on the scale, load the powder a touch on the light side and trickle the powder until I reach exactly the load I am looking for. I only do that for 50 rounds or so because it is extremely time consuming, but it does result in same hole hits time and time again.
Arizona Smithshooter is offline  
Old December 8, 2011, 06:13 PM   #28
Dan44149
Member
 
Join Date: December 1, 2011
Location: Strongsville, OH
Posts: 55
Forums are the greatest thing since sliced bread. I have one for my weapons/ammo/reloading, one for my truck, one for fishing, and one for my ATV...
__________________
Expert USMC Rifleman (x5)
Sharpshooter Pistol (sorry guys I hate the M9)
Novice Re-loader (tips are welcome anytime)
NRA Life-Member
Dan44149 is offline  
Old December 8, 2011, 07:03 PM   #29
serf 'rett
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 25, 2009
Location: Stuttgart, AR
Posts: 1,569
My thoughts on loading for pistol. For finding an accurate load, I assemble a series of rounds for the min to max range I’m considering, using the same head stamp, primer and brass. For slower powder, such as Power Pistol, I’ll start with the minimum I selected and load 7 to 10 rounds, then load the next step with 0.2 grains more and so forth until I hit the maximum I have selected. I want these testing charges to be spot on; which means I’m doing the trickle thing for each and every round. With a faster powder, such as VV-N320, the steps might be only 0.1 grains per step.

Then the fun starts – testing! As I prop on the sandbags, it’s fascinating to watch groups come together and spread apart as the series is tested. I take careful notes, because my CRS kicks in often. Targets are analyzed. Once this has been done, then I can often see what works, what doesn’t and importantly what difference there is between the steps. That difference between steps helps me to get an idea just how accurate my powder drops need to be for a particular combination.

The best groups are used to determine what combination I load for final testing. If the final testing confirms that the magic combination has been found, then the universe comes into harmony and life becomes wonderful

until a new primer, powder, bullet, case, caliber, etc., etc. disturbs the universal balance and the process begins again…
__________________
A lack of planning on your part does not necessarily constitute an emergency on my part.
serf 'rett is offline  
Old December 8, 2011, 07:19 PM   #30
Dan44149
Member
 
Join Date: December 1, 2011
Location: Strongsville, OH
Posts: 55
That's exactly what I've been doing.
__________________
Expert USMC Rifleman (x5)
Sharpshooter Pistol (sorry guys I hate the M9)
Novice Re-loader (tips are welcome anytime)
NRA Life-Member
Dan44149 is offline  
Old December 8, 2011, 09:14 PM   #31
engineermike
Junior member
 
Join Date: March 14, 2010
Location: Oklahaoma City
Posts: 538
Yep, that damn universal balance...
engineermike is offline  
Old December 8, 2011, 09:22 PM   #32
dunerjeff
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 31, 2011
Location: central Wisconsin
Posts: 440
If you want to see variables,load up 20 rounds with something that shoots ok in your gun.Now shoot a group when the temp outside is 85deg.,then wait till its 35deg and shoot the rest at the same target.With a chrono ,some powders can change by 75 to 100fps.
dunerjeff is offline  
Old December 8, 2011, 09:33 PM   #33
Sefner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 24, 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 769
Have you cleaned your powder measure with a dry lube (Hornady's OneShot works)? If you don't clean it before use the oil they use to prevent rust in packaging will cause powder to cling and do weird things. Need to clean the tube, both rotors, both meters, and all the inserts and the die. Also rub it with a drier sheet to break down any static buildup.
__________________
gtalk:renfes steamID: Sefner
Sefner is offline  
Old December 11, 2011, 09:02 AM   #34
Arizona Smithshooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 20, 2011
Location: Western Arizona
Posts: 173
I finished setting up my Hornady LNL yesterday. I spent considerable time cleaning the powder measure per the instructions on the DVD. When finished I installed the baffle, set it for 22 grains of Reloader 10X, and did about 50 measurements with weighed cases. They were all between 21.8 and 22 grains...perfect! This morning I plan to load 100 rounds of .223 and shoot them this afternoon.
Arizona Smithshooter is offline  
Old December 11, 2011, 10:15 AM   #35
Crunchy Frog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 26, 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 544
I cleaned my LNL powder measure very well before putting it into use and it threw consistent charges with Clays powder (I've since used Universal Clays for some midrange loads and it metered it fine as well).

There was a period where it suddenly started acting up. I use an RCBS Lockout Die which detects low or high powder levels (bless its little heart) so I knew something was wrong. It also felt different as the press cycled. I emptied the measure, disassembled it and cleaned it again. I put it back together and it was working fine. All I can think of was that it developed a little clog or clump.

Did I mention that I really like the RCBS Lockout Die?
Crunchy Frog is offline  
Old December 11, 2011, 05:51 PM   #36
dunerjeff
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 31, 2011
Location: central Wisconsin
Posts: 440
I make a electronic poder cops that a loud buzzer goes off if the charge is out of spec.A check die is a great backup tool,that can make sure you don't miss something.
dunerjeff is offline  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:49 AM   #37
HiBC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 13, 2006
Posts: 6,413
Seems like I remember something about putting the bushing that has the tapers that the powder funnels through in upside down.I got charge variation and bridging.You might check.

Oh,and the gentleman who mentioned you might need to switch to the handgun/smaller capacity metering rotor is probably right.
HiBC is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2018 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06584 seconds with 10 queries