The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old April 29, 2012, 05:24 PM   #1
Reef

Which Scope to keep?

I recently found a deal on a Weatherby 30-378 Accumark that I couldn't pass on. The gun came with a Zeiss Conquest 3x9x50 scope with Leupold rings. I bought this gun to replace my Ruger M77 338 Win Mag that has a Leupold Vari-x-iii4.5x14x40 that I really like. I have no experience with Zeiss but told it is a good scope. The thing I like about Leupold is I can have a custom dial for the round I'm shooting, the altitude and temperature so I can range the target, and dial in the yardage and then hold on. Not sure Zeiss has that option. So, my question is, keep the Zeiss or replace with the Leupold?
Old May 2, 2012, 12:48 PM   #2
Major Dave (retired)

Sell both scopes...

and use the money to buy the newest Leupold - VX-3.

Your Vari-X III is obsolete, in that Leupold upgraded the lens coatings (Multi-coat 4) when they brought out the "VX-III' line. Then, in 2010, the "VX" line was further upgraded (as well as replacing nitrogen gas with a krypton/argon mix: abrasion resistant objective and ocular lens coatings, "Xtended twilight" lens systen, etc.) and renamed "VX-3"

To sum up: VX-3 = newest, brightest, most durable
VX-III= one generation out of date
VARI-X III= two generations out of date.

Last edited by Major Dave (retired); May 2, 2012 at 02:13 PM.
Old May 2, 2012, 07:54 PM   #3
johnwilliamson062

IMO, used scopes aren't worth enough to sell, so I would keep it no matter what. THey are too fragile and no one wants to buy them used. At some point you will probably want to put it on something.
Old May 2, 2012, 08:19 PM   #4
gunsmokeTPF