The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old December 4, 2007, 01:16 PM   #1
V4Vendetta

I'm new to sound suppressors & am thinking of getting one for my AR.

My AR has a 16" barrell & is chambered for 5.56 rounds. It has a flash hider on the end of the barrell permantly.

I live up near Danbury in Stokes County. Will the sherrif sign off on the form or will I have to go the "trust" route?

Do sound suppressors require much cleaning? How do you clean them? What suppressor should I go with? How long should a good suppressor last? Are they quiet enough to be worth all the paperwork?

I would need it to be able to attach to a barrell with a flash hider, under $1,000 & quiet enough to use indoors with no ear protection. Would only be fired in semi-auto mode.

Here's a link to where you can view photo's of the barrell if you need to.
http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/...d.php?t=269398

Thanks for the help.

Within each one of us there is a inch of hope, of will, of integrity. We must never lose or give away that inch. For within it we are free.
Old December 4, 2007, 04:23 PM   #2
Syntax360

I doubt you'll get a response about your particular CLEO - there is no reason not to go the trust route, IMHO. You won't have to spend any extra coin on fingerprints or passport photos and the CLEO thing is a complete non-issue. It is arguably easier, cheaper, and your form will likely be approved faster. It's not hard and you shouldn't be intimidated - go the trust route.

Most of the mainstream cans are sealed units, meaning no disassembly. I only have a pistol suppressor, but cleaning only consists of leaving the thing in a solvent tank whenever I feel so inclined and then blowing out the fluid with an air compressor. Cleaning usually only consists of letting the thing soak in some (safe) solvent for a length of time - nothing difficult.