The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old April 26, 2019, 04:25 PM   #1
pricelessppp

First semi auto?

I'm new to hear also bear with me & new to guns. What would be a good first semi auto for range plinking? I've looked at the MP 15/22 as will as the Basic 10/22. I've been reading about both guns & liked both. But I've decided I'll just grab a complete AR15 Lower in the future & grab a complete upper in the future. Any recommendations.

Last edited by pricelessppp; April 26, 2019 at 05:11 PM.
Old April 26, 2019, 05:24 PM   #2
Evan Thomas

Welcome to TFL!

You can't do better than a 10/22 as a range plinker and "starter" gun. You're smart to be looking at .22 rifles -- the combination of low recoil and low ammo cost means that you can do a lot more shooting in a given amount of time, and a person does need to put a *lot* of rounds downrange in order to become a proficient shooter.

And if you want to learn to shoot well in the shortest possible amount of time, once you have that semi-auto .22 rifle, consider signing up for an Appleseed shoot. For the money, it's the best training around, and they make it fun, too.
Old April 26, 2019, 10:07 PM   #3
pricelessppp

@Evan Thomas Agreed that rifles been on my list! Though Would a AR-15 with a 22 upper be a good starter also? I seen palmetto state sell a 22 dedicated upper would that be another good option? Also been thinking about just going for a 556/223 upper. I've heard of Appleseed project not sure if they have any events at any gun ranges in town.
Old April 26, 2019, 11:57 PM   #4
DaleA

I've never been to an Appleseed event but I've heard good things about them. Here's a guide to where their programs will be held.
https://appleseedinfo.org/schedulemap/

I just checked my state (Minnesota) and they have the following info:
Quote: