The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 21, 2015, 02:56 PM   #1
MTSig89

9mm trimming and COAL- HELP!

Hello everyone!

I am relatively new to reloading and just started some loads for my Sig Mk25 9mm.

I am using the Lyman recipe for 115 grain FMJ's with 700x powder (all I could find ) which calls for a 3.1 grain charge as a starting load. I have an RCBS carbide die set which includes a taper crimp die. Spec from the book calls for a crimp of .001-.002" and COAL(cartidge over all length) of 1.090". I have some factory new brass as well as some range brass- it has all been sized (deprimed as needed), chamfered and deburred and now I am setting up my seating/crimp die after charging each case with powder.

I have found quite a lot of information concerning whether or not to trim straight wall cases. Based on my research and findings I don't disagree with those of you who don't feel it's worth it to trim your "standard" straight wall cases I.E. NOT mag's or +P's. I do, then, have a concern with my COAL. I have been led a bunch of different ways on this and since there isn't a ton out there for pistol loadings concerning seating depth, cartridge overall length and case pressure I figured I would try to start a conversation. My experience in reloading has been for wheel guns (.357mag, .41mag and .44mag) and bench/hunting rifles (.223, .260, .270, .338 etc....) and ABSOLUTELY no exeperience with a semi-auto gun hand loading.

Again, my recipe is for a starting charge to get a feel for how the rounds will perform in my particular weapon, so I don't believe I will have pressure issues.