The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old May 13, 2007, 04:12 PM   #1
acfemf

So...How expensive are full auto weapons?

I have no experience with full-auto weapons, but caught sight of an ad in a gun mag. The vendor seemed to sell only full-auto guns, but I couldn't believe the asking prices. Something like 16K for an mp5. All of the weapons were priced over their semi-auto counterparts by a factor of 10, it seemed. Does it really cost multiple thousands to get a fully automatic weapon. This is, of course, not withstanding the licencing fees. Just curious about this.
Old May 13, 2007, 05:29 PM   #2
shaggy

Yup, thats correct. In 1986 Congress passed a law prohibiting the new manufacture and registration of machineguns for civilian use and possesion, but full auto weapons which had been properly registered were 'grandfathered'. With a fixed (actually steadily decreasing) supply and an ever increasing demand due to more and more people realizing grandfathered machineguns are legal the prices have shot through the roof.
Old May 13, 2007, 07:19 PM   #3
44 AMP
Staff

Supply and demand

The demand is growing, and the supply is fixed. Before the 1986 freeze, FA guns of the common types cost a little more than the semi auto versions. Rare guns cost quite a bit.

Since the 1986 freeze, no new guns can be added to the registry. That means that no new made guns can be owned by civilians, and that no "found" old guns (like a BAR found in granpa's old footlocker) can be added to the registry either. Since the supply is fixed, and deminishing slowly, as the guns wear out, the price had gone through the roof.

The price also goes up each time one of these guns is sold, due to the $200 tax, and the dealer's fees. Unlike regular guns, the more used a FA gun is, the more it costs. Some Thompson SMGs are at $50,000 right now!
Old May 13, 2007, 08:56 PM   #4
oldbillthundercheif