The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 24, 2016, 08:10 PM   #1
pete.bauer

MEC Reloader - What do I have?

Hello,

I was given this reloader by my uncle - can someone tell me what I've got? (Keep in mind I have ZERO experience in reloading)

I think it may be an old MEC 500 or 600? He said it worked when he put it away 20+ years ago. Is this obsolete? or any chance I can get it working? I got into sporting clays last year and got the bug bad this year shooting several cases per month - I'm interested in learning to reload (which is what started the convo in me getting this thing).

I've got a few pics and a quick video. I can pop a primer out but the next 'stage' it cant push a primer in and the stage after that the wad doesn't go down near as far as it should.

Anyway - any help or insight would be awesome.

Thanks,
Pete

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hon63tA53Bs

Old July 24, 2016, 08:55 PM   #2
briandg

That is a standard piece of mecl equipment. They are designed to work only within certain specs. Bases were cardboard when it was made, not thin plastic bases. You will have to adjust or replace the primer ram. It's going to be hard to find a wad/powder/shot combination, maybe that will work and fit the bar,unless you replace it with an adjustable. That is valuable, New ones cost a fortune. Clean it up, tune it up, find out what charge and dimensions you need, and for God's sake, get hull that are good for reloading, not throwaway. You're probably going to waste a lot of rounds getting yourself working. I have a twenty of about that vintage. It is like my brother in law, a fantastic tool.. mine used win aa wads, unique, and I think an o ounce of that between seven and nine. Using anything else would require a different bar.
Old July 24, 2016, 09:44 PM   #3
FrankenMauser

Looks like an older model from the 600 series.