The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old June 23, 2010, 03:52 PM   #1
Sphawley

Shotgun choke??

I'm new to shooting and am still learning so please excuse me if this is a dumb question;

What exactly does a choke or choke do for your shotgun??
Old June 23, 2010, 04:21 PM   #2
kozak6

A choke is a tapered constriction of the barrel at the muzzle.

They tighten the shot pattern, allowing for a longer effective range.
Old June 23, 2010, 04:23 PM   #3
BigJimP

It constricts the barrel - so as the shot goes down the barrel - it affects the size of the pattern at the kill range ....on birds, clay targets, etc...

A "Skeet" choke - gives a 30" effective pattern at about 20 - 25 yards..
An Improved Cyclinder choke - gives you a 30" pattern at about 25-30 yrds
A Modified choke - 30" pattern at about 30 - 35 yards
An Improved Modified - 30" at 35 - 40 yards
A Full choke - at 40 -50 yards...

with the idea that you need a fairly denses pattern ( a few hundred pellets of shot / inside the pattern at 30" ....to break a target, kill a bird, etc ......and then you mix in the size of shot 9's, 6's, 2's etc --- and the inertia and how far they'll carry and still kill or break a target ....

But you change "chokes" on a shotgun ....for the intended kill range...

Its not a dumb question....
Most shotguns have "screw in" changeable chokes since the late 1970's ....so one gun will do many things. Some tactical shotguns have no chokes -- or just a "cyclinder" becasue they're intended to shoot "defensive" ammo like slugs or OO buck ......

Shotguns made in the 50's and 60's were made with a fixed / not a changeable choke --- so they were fixed at "Full", or "Modified" or whatever you wanted to buy ....and if you wanted to hunt different game / you needed to change guns or change barrels - where today, one gun will do a lot of things.
Old June 23, 2010, 04:25 PM   #4
jmr40