The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 26, 2013, 02:48 PM   #1
rebs

45 auto rim and 45 acp ?

what is the difference between these two rounds ? I ordered a taper crimp die from Lee for 45 acp and the one they sent says on the package 45 auto rim.
Old November 26, 2013, 02:55 PM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

For your viewing pleasure:

http://www.saami.org/PubResources/CC...0Automatic.pdf

http://www.saami.org/PubResources/CC...Auto%20Rim.pdf

At first blush, I'd say there's no difference from a sizing perspective. Body dimensions within about 0.001"
Old November 26, 2013, 03:06 PM   #3
Nick_C_S

As I understand it (and I'm no expert), the 45 Auto Rim was designed as a revolver cartridge that supported 45ACP bullets, and even the powder charges. Basically, a conversion from an autoloader to a revolver.

The logical progression of (my) thought, is that the advent of moon clips rendered the Auto Rim pretty much obsolete.
Old November 26, 2013, 03:33 PM   #4
steveno

the 45 AR requires a different shell holder. I have both a taper and roll crimp & seating dies. you need the taper crimp for the acp and I used the roll crimp for the AR but depending upon the bullet you probably use the taper crimp die for it
Old November 26, 2013, 03:43 PM   #5

The .45 Auto Rim is simply a rimmed version of the .45 ACP. So long as your die taper crimps, it will be fine. I would confirm this however because as already mentioned, the most common method of crimping the Auto Rim is a roll crimp. Your die should have been designated .45 ACP and since it is designated .45 AR, it may well roll crimp rather than taper crimp.
Old November 26, 2013, 05:46 PM   #6
rebs

It says it taper crimps, it just threw me off when I seen it says 45 auto rim. In the mean time I called Lee and they said it is the right taper crimp for my 45 acp
They should have labeled it right