The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old May 28, 2012, 03:29 PM   #1
Ron7624

Sig P238 Trigger Bite

I've been carrying the Colt Mustang Pocketlite for several years, and I have never had a problem. It is an accurate and dependable pistol.
I just bought a Sig P238 several weeks ago, and am very impressed with the Siglite Night Sights. I really, really like them, a lot and want to carry this pistol because of them.
But, after my first round at the range with the Sig, I was extremely disappointed how sharp the end of the plastic trigger was. I found it uncomfortable to shoot, so I continued to carry the Mustang.
I've been looking to buy a better trigger so I can start to use this new gun. Although there was one posted elseware in the forum, I haven't investigated buying it. So today I decided to fix the trigger that came on the pistol. I took a small file, taped up the trigger guard and gently took that razor edge off of the bottom of that trigger. Wow, it worked like a champ. Went back to the range this afternoon and went through a bunch of handloads and a box of commercial stuff. From round nose to JHP, and mixing Colt and Sig magazines, I never a hiccup, and best of all no trigger bite.
I will start carrying the Sig now that it is shootable, and I’ll keep my trusty Mustang at the ready.
Old May 28, 2012, 03:32 PM   #2
BarryLee

So, in your opinion was this a design issue or a manufacturing defect?
A major source of objection to a free economy is precisely that it ... gives people what they want instead of what a particular group thinks they ought to want. Underlying most arguments against the free market is a lack of belief in freedom itself.
- Milton Friedman
Old May 28, 2012, 05:19 PM   #3
Ron7624

Cost effective manufacturning technique?

Design issue.