The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old June 11, 2015, 07:46 AM   #1
Jstarling

Advice on Solvent Trap Kit

I found this site with a complete Solvent Trap Kit http://www.solventtrap.net/ and wanted to get your advice. I am aware I have to file Form 1 and the proper tax stamp before any modification but I needed some advice because I am new to this.

I always liked doing my own things from scratch and this is a complete kit and cheaper than others I have found. Any advice/suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.
Old June 11, 2015, 10:11 AM   #2
Skans

If you are buying one of these kits to turn it into a silencer (legally, of course) wouldn't you want to know what the db reduction would be? How would it stack up to a factory built silencer? I notice there isn't anything on the website about how effective it would be as a silencer, should someone buy one with that in mind. If I'm going to go through the hassle of getting ATF approval to own a silencer, I'd want to know exactly what I'm getting.
Old June 11, 2015, 10:52 AM   #3
Tom Servo
Staff

It really seems expensive for what you get.

That said, anything you attach to that kit (oil filter or whatnot) will need to be serialized and registered.
Old June 11, 2015, 11:51 AM   #4
Sharkbite

There was a guy at my outdoor range a few months ago (last Fall?) with an oil filter supressor. I didnt ask about stamps or stuff...just watched him shoot it

I was shooting my SWR Warlock II and his filter sounded about the same. That got me looking into the oil filter suppressor as a cheap alternative (properly stamped, of course)

I found it not to be worthwhile. You can not just change out the filter when it gets old. The filter and the adapter need to be S/n together. If you buy the unit from them on a form 4 then you can send the filter back and they will re-serialize a filter and return it to you