The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old December 28, 2018, 08:51 PM   #1
Bucksnort1

Headspace

Now here is a topic I'll bet has been beaten to death over the years.

I watched a You Tube video explaining head space. The video was well done and used a cut away bolt action rifle with (probably inert or maybe its ert, who knows) what looks like a 30-06 cartridge. I am not an expert at the subject but I now understand what it is but what is confusing me is what it's called.

Why is it called headspace?
Old December 28, 2018, 09:20 PM   #2
Steve in PA

Space from the case head to the face of the closed bolt; head space
Old December 28, 2018, 09:42 PM   #3
Colorado Redneck

Quote:
Headspace is one of the most critical measures in your rifle. A quick definition: the distance from the face of the locked bolt to a datum line or shoulder in the chamber that arrests the forward movement of the cartridge. The term originated when all cartridges had protruding rims, so the measure was initially taken only at the head. Now it includes other spans.
From Gun Digest
Case head is explained better by a drawing. Hopefully it is attached.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg The-Cartridge-Case-3.jpg (30.8 KB, 63 views)
Old December 28, 2018, 10:20 PM   #4
Bucksnort1

Yes, I know the anatomy of a case so I know what the head is. The way the video explained, it has nothing to do with the case head but rather, chamber fit. I attached the link to the video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAgjvBxzng4
Old December 28, 2018, 11:12 PM   #5
mehavey

The "head"space originally applied to rimmed cartridges, and was literally the clearance dimension for [drumroll please] the case head.
See http://www.nucem.se/images/guns/hand...574570head.gif

Then we invented modern rimless cases and messed everything up .. . .
Old December 29, 2018, 02:24 AM   #6
HiBC