The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old November 20, 2017, 10:37 AM   #1
dahermit

"feels good in the hand"

I have frequently seen that statement in regard to the handling characteristics of a handgun. My questions are: If a gun "feels good" does that always result in a more accurate gun? Can a gun that "does not feel good in the hand", like being barrel heavy actually be more conducive to accuracy than a gun that "feels good."
Old November 20, 2017, 10:58 AM   #2
SonOfScubaDiver

I am far from an expert, but I have a gun that feels great in my hand that I shoot worse than all my guns. And the one gun that feels the worst in my hand is one that I shoot well. The former is a SW40VE, and the latter is a Glock 35. I've bought a spring kit and XS sights for the SW40VE, and still cannot shoot the thing very well. The G35 is bone stock, and I'm getting 3-4 inch groups at 25 yards. I also have a stock M&P 2.0 9mm that both fits in my hand well and that I shoot very well. So, "feeling good in the hand" doesn't necessarily mean shooting well, in my not so expert opinion.
Old November 20, 2017, 11:09 AM   #3
OzeanJaeger

I agree. You should choose the tool you're best with on an objective basis. Not on a subjective one like, "it feels good in my hand".

It's a gun. All guns feel good in my hands.
Old November 20, 2017, 11:29 AM   #4
rickyrick

I would say maybe, lol. If that “good feel” also makes the gun index in the right spot, then it could make for a more accurate gun. But it is still a maybe. One of several ingredients to a good shooter I guess.
Old November 20, 2017, 12:24 PM   #5
NoSecondBest