The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old December 27, 2000, 08:29 PM   #1
fudiem

I'm new to tfl and may be asking a question previously answered.
I just purchased a rem 870 express turkey 12g. with 21" barrel (my first 870). I put it together per instructions and after racking the slide a couple of times the mag tube is scratched up now. It's worn through the matte finish, down to the metal on one side. I've now racked it about a dozen times and it's getting worse.
Is this normal or should I send it in. I'm prepared to live with it but HATE to have a new gun with marks on it. I'm pretty hard on my stuff and they tend to get messed up fast but I would like a fair chance to try and take care of it.
Thanks in advance.
Old December 27, 2000, 10:48 PM   #2
Fatcat

Some wear marks are certainly normal, there are plenty on my mag tube. But, if it is scratching on one side but not the other, your pump may be off-center. I'd take it off according to the manual and put it back on.

But I really wouldn't worry about it, unless it starts shaving the metal or something like that..
Old December 28, 2000, 04:58 AM   #3
Halfpint

Location: About to be gobbled up by "The People's Republic of Firestone"!
What `Fatcat' said;

>Some wear marks are certainly normal, there are plenty on >my mag tube. But, if it is scratching on one side but not >the other, your pump may be off-center. I'd take it off >according to the manual and put it back on.
>
>But I really wouldn't worry about it, unless it starts >shaving the metal or something like that..
>
Having pretty much agreed with Fatcat I'd also add that it also makes it `look loved and appreciated' rather than being some sort of `safe queen' to only be looked at and admired from a distance'. {GRIN!} You *did* buy it to *shoot* didn't you? {CHORTLE!} So... Get out there and shoot it!

Of course I'm out of my mind, it's dark and scary in there!