The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 30, 2005, 06:03 PM   #1
winder

Woods etiquette question

I was recently at a wildlife management area in Southern Kentucky when I ran across a wildlife dept. officer who was asking me the usual questions about how I was doing and what I was doing. I told him that I was just in the woods that day to do some "plinking" at paper targets and tin cans with my .22 and to enjoy the beautiful weather. He kind of jumped down my throat and gave me some business about how it is archery season for deer and turkey and that there might be people in the area that I might be disturbing with my plinking. He also thought that it was unsafe. He thought that it was a bad idea and made me feel like crap. This is a 17,000 acre WMA and there wasn't a car within a half a mile so I didn't have a problem with it. I am a resident of the state of Ky, have a valid hunting license and practice safe gun handling and shooting. Where I live in Florence Kentucky there aren't many areas to shoot and only one crappy 4 station public range in all of northern Ky that makes you shoot through tubes. Does anyone have any thoughts about going into the woods just to have some fun shooting your/my guns? Isn't that one of the main reasons we buy and collect guns? I don't do alot of hunting except for the occasional squirrel or rabbit so I like to go out and have a good "safe" time.
Old October 30, 2005, 06:17 PM   #2
steveno

to a certain extent he might be right in that if a there is a hunting season in progress it wouldn't be good to be disturbing the bowhunters. however he didn't need to be such an as*hole about it. bowhunters probably go at least a half mile from their vehicles so there could have been bowhunters out there and since they are normally wearing camo it would be easy to not seem them. hopefully you were shooting into a safe background. just my opinion
Old October 30, 2005, 06:56 PM   #3
Leif