The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 11, 2011, 04:50 PM   #1
Prospero

Starting my Reloading Library, suggestions please

Hello TFL members,

New here and just wanted to introduce myself. I'm fairly new to firearms in general and reloading specifically. Got started two years ago when I inherited a Browning Nomad from my grandfather. Thats when it all began...and boy am I having fun. I've decided to get into reloading, I think brewing my own beer has somehow transmuted into wanting to cook up something else. I've realized that I learn best by reading (hopefully with pictues) then watching, then doing. I think that something with so much potential for "problems" should be entered into carefully, so I'm wondering what books other members have found to be useful. I got an Amazon gift card for my birthday so I'm starting with:

1. The ABC's of Reloading
2. Lee 2nd Edition Reloading Manual
3. Lyman Reloading Manual 49th
4. Hornady Reloading Handbook 8th Edition

I realize some information may be repeated, but I like to read things from different points of view and in a different style. It should be added that I compiled this list from information gleaned from this forum, so thanks to everyone that has posted on previous threads. To start with I'll be loading .44 mag, both semi wad cutters for paper punching and some regular rounds. Just curious if there's any caliber specific books that can be helpful. Thanks again to everyone
Old September 11, 2011, 05:10 PM   #2
m&p45acp10+1

The Lyman Pistol and Revolver 3rd Edition is a good one. It has a section dedicated to casting lead, as well as a section dedicated to the TC Encore pistols.