The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 18, 2009, 02:31 PM   #1
LuckyStrike

I'm new, need some help!

Hey guys, I'd appreciate it if you could help me out. I'm new to reloading and would like to start reloading match ammo for my Remington 700 5R and am hoping you guys might have some wisdom to share. I just bought the Lee 50th anniversary kit.

Seen here: http://www.leeprecision.com/html/catalog/anivers.html

As for dies I'm not sure what to get. There's a lot of them out there... I'm looking into these 'Collet Dies' from Lee;

http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi/cata...es-collet.html

Will these dies work for what I intend to do? Is there anything I should know about dies for a bolt action precision rifle?

I'm planning on using Sierra Match King 175's. What powder do you recommend that I use?

And lastly, will the powder measure scale that comes with the kit be sufficient for my 'match grade' purposes? If not, can you recommend me a scale that is good enough?

That's about all, I think. If there are any other parts/pieces I should look into getting, please let me know. Like I said, I'm new to reloading and it seems like a lot of fun. If there is anything else you can share with me that I might need to know I would really appreciate it. Thanks!!!
Old May 18, 2009, 03:30 PM   #2
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

Lee collet dies are sweet! Should work just fine in your bolt rifle. You won't be disappointed! Best neck-sizing die for the money hands down!

The scale is just OK. For super-precise ammo, I would get a better scale that is going to be a little easier to set up and read. I used the Lee scale for a while and it worked fine...now I have an RCBS and LOVE IT! Easier to set up and seems a little more sensitive. Don't get me wrong, I had consistent ammo with the cheapy Lee scale, but the RCBS is much, much easier to use. Good luck!

~NRA LIFE MEMBER~
~NRA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR~