The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old December 27, 2009, 11:40 PM   #1
Kirbyman

Bushmaster AR15 Jamming

Hi y'all! This is my first post. I've been reloading handguns for 8 yrs. I am now reloading my 223. I use Hornedy L-N-L for all stages except priming. For that I use an old Hollywood 12 die turret reloading press. I have two Bushmaster rifles. One is OEM and the second was bought second hand. It was not fired much at all and was modified for competition. So here is my dilema. The OEM rifle (M4) eats everything I throw into it. The other rifle (A2) jams when I feed it reloaded ammo. It has an after market SS Bull barrel on it. The round goes in about 7/8 of the way in and then gets firmly jammed into the breech. It is then a real son of a gun to get out! I actually have to use a screw driver to pry the bolt back! I am loading once or twice fired Lake City brass trimmed at 1.74- 1.75". I am using H335 @ 25.5 gr pushing Siera, Hornady or Win bullets. Doesnt seem to make much difference if they are 52, 55 or 63 grain bullets. Overall length is right around 2.225" when I crimp at the canilure. I full length resize the brass using standard issue RCBS dies. I compare my reloads to new Federal ammo and about the only thing I can come up with is that my neck diameter is wider than factory new. The Fed ammo is .2445" and I am at .2545". I'm thinking that the issue is either the neck size or perhaps it may even be the rifle. Maybe the throat may be too narrow or made for competition type tolerences. Can any one help?

Thanks!

BTW, is there a better way to ream the primer pockets than using the hand held Hornedy cutting tool? It takes forever and it still doesnt work well with my CCI primers. I still crunch more than I care to admit.
Old December 27, 2009, 11:59 PM   #2
rjrivero