The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 10, 2020, 10:22 PM   #1
jetblueshooter

Trouble with Bullet Alignment

I am new to reloading. Using a 5 stage Hornady press reloading 9mm (once fired brass) with Copper Plated Round Nose bullets. I am able to get everything working right, but have one major problem. Sometimes when I place the bullet on the case prior to seating, it sits just fine. Other times, the bullet won't sit right and can fall off. It seems sporadic, some work, some don't. I am using an expander die, but no matter what I do, I keep running into this. Sometimes the bullet gets shaved on one side, or it comes out crooked looking. (using RCBS bullet seater die and separate hornady taper crimp die).

I just ordered a bulge buster setup because I heard that 9mm can get the "glock bulge"... and the die I ordered apparently takes out the taper on the 9mm case as well. Not sure this will do anything.

Anyone heard of this problem... I think it's probably some rookie mistake.

Thanks
Old November 10, 2020, 10:56 PM   #2
noylj

I use a 9mm Mak FCD as a 9x19 and 9x21 bulge buster. Works for me.
Bullet alignment:
1) For some, a Lyman M-die helps a lot.
https://www.lymanproducts.com/pistol...panding-m-dies
I never found them of any use, but I seem to have issues getting the results others have.
2) I lost a lot of fine motor skills a few years ago and could not put a 9mm bullet on a case straight/square/coaxial, so I got a Lee Bullet Feeder that I use it manually with a Lee seating die with custom Lee seating insert that fits the bullet so the bullet is aligned. I like the seating stem to NOT touch the bullet meplat and touch the bullet as far down the ogive as possible. Lee does good work.