The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old June 21, 2000, 08:21 AM   #1
hollow point

I have decided to take a martial arts class to facilitate my Personal Protection Instructor training. I have a friend that has offered to teach me Tae-kwon-do. He is a third degree black belt and he seems to be very tradition oriented with his teaching. Having no martial arts training, my question is if the t-k-d is a good style to study for self defense? The other style he teaches is something that sounds like "gee-coon-do" and I truly know nothing about this one. It might be better suited to self defense than t-k-d.

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
HP
Old June 21, 2000, 10:04 AM   #2
TaxPhd

My background is in Judo, so take this for what it may be worth, and with a huge grain of salt.

TKD seems to me to be very sport oriented, with a lot of flashy, high kicks that just don't work on the street. If someone gets past those kicks, clinches, and takes the fight to the ground, the TKD practitioner is likely in a world of hurt. In some of the early UFC's (Ultimate Fighting Championships) there were several high level black belt TKD practitioners that got their clocks cleaned, usually by grapplers. These guys would try a flashy round house kick, get dumped on the mat, and spent the rest of the time trying not to get killed.

I would seriously recommend a martial art with a heavy focus in ground fighting (Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Judo, Wrestling, Sambo, etc.) coupled with something that teaches effective striking (Muay Thai may well be the best, and good old Boxing can be very effective).

The "ge-coon-do" that was mentioned is probably Jeet Kun Do. This is Bruce Lee's amalgamation of many different styles. There are probably others here that can comment more on this.

HTH!!
Old June 21, 2000, 10:13 AM   #3
hawkgt