The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old June 3, 2018, 12:58 PM   #1
bspillman

Police trade in glocks???

I’m not asking this question for any particular reason other than curiosity. I hear all the time the best bang for your buck so to speak is a police trade in glock 22. Now, I work in law enforcement and in my department I’m in a small group of Officers that shoot their issued 40 cal a whole lot with most officers only shooting theirs enough to qualify 2 times a year. With that being said I’d like to ask how many rounds owners have put through their police trade in glocks? Any failures? Thanks in advance.
Old June 3, 2018, 01:05 PM   #2
Uncle Malice

I had a trade-in G19 years ago. It was an early gen3 (2 pin design, but gen 3 features). It was a great gun and I sold it to a friend who needed his first gun.

Glocks work well all the time and their customer service is top notch. If anything went wrong with it, just send it to Glock and they'll fix it all up at no cost. They're really good.
Old June 3, 2018, 03:47 PM   #3
MTT TL

I also had a police trade in Gen3 G22 for about ten years. I figure I fired roughly 2000 rounds through it. I can't recall a single malfunction. In fact someone gave a magazine once that they said was malfunctioning in their G22. I fired several full magazines with it without fail. Accuracy was just as good As NIB.

That was all factory ammo.
Old June 3, 2018, 04:13 PM   #4
Mosin44az

I have owned two G23 and one G22 trade-ins. Hundreds of rounds through each, no issues. If you buy from a store that lets you hand select, you can get one that is clearly almost new.
Old June 3, 2018, 05:23 PM   #5
Bimus

I bought a Glock 22 no problems I think it shot smother then a new one .
Old June 4, 2018, 12:09 AM   #6
Ibmikey