The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 21, 2014, 01:29 PM   #1
jadeharris

Intermediate shooter seeking assistance

I have been shooting now for many years but have just recently gotten into precision/high volume shooting. My set-up is a tikka t3, 30-06, topped with a vortex viper hs lr 4-16x44. I've been hand loading 165 grain hornandy sst bullets with federal brass, 50 grains of superformance powder and also 165 grain sst's with 48 grains of varget powder, federal brass. The problem is at 100 yards i shoot sub moa groups out a lead sled, literally stacking the bullets on each other, but when i shoot at 200 yards there is absolutely no consistency and bullet holes all over the place, no cross wind. I'm not the most knowledgable but it seems to me that any problems arising with the shooter (me) would come up at 100 yards, the scope is secured properly, and it seems that if the bullets were wacky they would shoot mediocre at 100 yards. I also tried several types of factory ammo and they all did the same thing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old July 21, 2014, 03:18 PM   #2
Bart B.

How big is "bullets all over the place?"

Normally, 200 yard groups are about 10% bigger than those at 100.
NRA Smallbore Prone Master
Old July 21, 2014, 04:19 PM   #3
jadeharris

I figured with 1 inch groups at 100 yards i should have two inch groups at 200 and so on so forth all the way out to around 600 yards (where i would like to get comfortable). Right now my bullets are literally all over the place so on an eleven inch circle target i may have one in the bulls-eye another one high right, another low left, with no grouping what so ever. Thanks
Old July 21, 2014, 04:21 PM   #4
jadeharris

Also, forgot to mention bullet seating is set to factory specs on superformance loads, 3.210. And the target loads i seated a little further out at 3.290.
Old July 21, 2014, 08:45 PM   #5